The Bah Kut Teh Challenge – Wild Serai vs Plusixfive

Just over two weeks ago, we headed to “The Battle of the Bak Kut Tehs – For Action Against Hunger” – it was a Singapore vs Malaysia Bah Kut Teh challenge. For those who don’t know what Bah Kut Teh is, it is a Chinese soup dish and it directly translate to ‘meat bone tea’. This dish is widely know in Singapore and Malaysia and it usually consists of meaty pork ribs simmered in a complex broth of herbs and spices for hours.

My mum makes an excellent Bah Kut Teh, according to my best friend, my brother and my dude. As for me, I am never a big fan of the peppery soup which my mum makes. I much prefer the Malaysian version which I often have whenever I head over to Johor Bahru.

The “Olympigs” challenge was held at the Singapore pop up house near Marylebone. When we were walking along the street looking for the place, we followed a strong smell of pork and got to the doorstep easy. We were greeted by Wen of Edible Experiences and after a quick chat with Goz, we were seated and given our first bowl of Bah Kut Teh.

We were told that Goz has been boiling the Bah Kut Teh for weeks. Obviously Singaporean (kiasu huh! hehe) but boy it was worth it!

After having our first bowl of Bah Kut Teh by the Plusixfive, the dude and I were pretty impressed. The pork meat just melted in our mouths and I must say that it tasted better than my mum’s Bah Kut Teh! My only criticism was that I got a really ultra small bowl of soup and the dough stick wasn’t the best.

All around, you could hear people dissecting the two bowls of soup and hungry for more!

The Malaysian bowl of Bah Kut Teh by Wild Serai came next and we gulped it down in no time. The soup had the herbal touch albeit a little too light for me.

I came with the thought that I would much prefer the Malaysian version but was surprised by Goz’s version.
So guess who won in the end? Gozgozgoz from Plusixfive! I think both Wild Serai and Plusixfive put up a great culinary experience for just £5. Voting was also done via our donation to Action Against Hunger. Quite a nice afternoon lunch I must say!

2 thoughts on “The Bah Kut Teh Challenge – Wild Serai vs Plusixfive

  1. I wish I was there…Gutted! I blame it on M :(
    Nice pic Wendy! And one thing bugged me…why is the Malaysian flag so big compared to the Singaporean ones?

Leave a Reply

