Addiction: Cheese biscuits

How much is your biscuit addiction costing you?

Well, I’m glad you asked because when I was younger, my brothers’ and my biscuit addiction was costing my Mum a packet. Many years ago, Mum, always a lover of fine food, discovered these wonderfully addictive cheese biscuits. Mum would regularly buy them at the ridiculous price of $8 to have with a glass of wine with Dad or when friends came over. Then one fateful day, as I reached for the Arrnott’s BBQ Shapes I accidentally put my paws on the infamous cheese biscuits. From that day on, I was addicted. At $8 a pack (well that’s what mum always told me the price was), as a 16-year-old, I had myself (well, actually, my parents) a costly addiction. You see, there were only a handful of biscuits in each pack so before the three hungry teenagers had even began to whet their appetite, the pack was gone. My brothers and I would be turning our noses up at the prospect of eating Arnott’s Shapes. As you can imagine this caused Mum a considerable amount of annoyance. When she’s standing there at the end of the day, wine in hand, and wanting one of the biscuits she’s bought from a specialty food store three suburbs away and there are none left because of her greedy teenagers, she needed a solution. Fast.

I don’t know how Mum did it but she invented/stole/sourced from somewhere the mysterious recipe (and it certainly wasn’t from the shop… why would they voluntarily cut their profit margins and lose one of their best customers?).
Here, I present to you, the recipe.

Recipe:
125gms blue cheese
250gms butter
2 cups grated parmesan
2 cups cheddar
2 tablsp lemon juice
2 cups plain flour
4 tablsp S R flour
2 tsp curry powder

Combine all together (mix with hands) and roll into long sausages (say 4). Wrap in cling wrap and put in freezer.

Remove, thaw, slice into 1 cm discs.  Cook on a baking tray in a hot oven for about 15 mins until lightly brown and smelling good and cheesie (ensure you leave a few cms space for the biscuits to spread). This recipe makes a lot so you can keep some ‘sausages’ for later.

Enjoy. And happy saving.

2 thoughts on “Addiction: Cheese biscuits

Leave a Reply

