Bake your own bread – the lazy way

When I first came across Nigel’s lazy loaf recipe, I was wondering what the catch was. The naive me always thought that the bread machine is the answer to bread. I always imagined tedious kneading and a difficult process otherwise. I was proved wrong. This is probably one of the easiest thing to bake and I don’t even own a bread tin so go figure! All you need is a cast iron casserole pot and possibly 40 minutes and the bread is done!

sodabread

Soda bread with sunflower seeds
(adapted from Nigel’s lazy loaf)

Ingredients:
225g wholemeal flour
225g plain flour
½ tsp sea salt
1 tsp caster sugar
1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
350ml buttermilk
sunflower seeds

1. Preheat the oven to 220degC. Put the large casserole dish and its lid into the oven.
2. In a large bowl, mix the flours, sea salt, sugar and bicarbonate of soda together with your fingers.
3. Pour in the buttermilk and begin working the mixture into a soft dough. Pour some sunflower seeds into the dough whilst working it.
4. Shape the dough into a shallow round loaf about 4cm thick.
5. Remove the hot casserole dish from the oven and dust the inside lightly with flour. Lower the dough slowly.
6. Cover the lid and put it back in the oven. (I have also baked the bread without the lid on and this browns the bread more)
7. Check the bread after 25 minutes as it should be ready.
8. Let it cool before turning it out.

sodatoast

Soda bread is extremely tasty when eaten warm. It is such a satisfying feeling to bake your own bread and taste pretty good as well!

8 thoughts on “Bake your own bread – the lazy way

  1. This has to be too good to be true! Seriously, no bread machine or yeast necessary? Have you tried substituting anything else for sunflower seeds? I’m going to give this a try this weekend. I wonder how raisins and cinnamon would taste swirled into soda bread?

    xx Jenee C.

  2. yay good job wendee! think there’s no excuse to not bake your own bread now! I think soda bread is delicious, but tastes quite different to yeast bread, I still love it though! A lot! I blogged about a lazy sourdough no knead bread in dec but easy as it was, it wasn’t quick that’s to be sure! This is a good YUMMY, QUICK alternative. Good one! Hee hee no sign of that 3 tbsp of bicarb (p.s. how were the muffins? )

    • Hey Shuhan, I read your sourdough starter and the no knead bread post. Definitely will try making it when I’ve got a bit more time in my hands. Less washing, more cooking! Currently the husband is not capable of household chores. I’m wrecked!

Leave a Reply

