This easter…

I have never celebrated Easter in my life but since I was little, I know of the nursery rhyme “Hot cross buns, hot cross buns, one a penny, two a penny, hot cross buns!“. I had my first hot cross buns when I moved to Australia and I grew to love these spiced and fruited buns. I love to heat mine up in the oven to get the toasted top. Together with butter, the warm spiced bun is the perfect breakfast/ tea time treat.

Last year, I got the Heston Blumenthal x waitrose earl grey and mandarin hot cross buns. This year, I decided to make them instead. I read a few recipes and decided to test out The Little Loaf’s recipe. Given that I am a bit of a chocolate addict, I added dark chocolate bits to some of the buns I made.

Hot Cross Buns (recipe adapted from The little loaf)
Makes 13 buns

Buns

Ingredients:
225g strong white flour
225g wholemeal flour
7g dried yeast
5g salt
50g light brown sugar
2 tsp all spice
½ tsp ground cinnamon
50g unsalted butter
250ml milk (full fat)
Orange zest (1/2 orange)
1 large free range egg
100g raisins
80g sultanas
85g mixed peel
Dark chocolate bits (depending on how much you want in your buns)

Crosses & Glaze

Ingredients:
50g plain flour
4 tbsp Water (adjust accordingly)
2 tbsp golden syrup

1. Mix the flours, salt, sugar, yeast and spices together in a large bowl.

2. Melt the butter on the stove then remove from heat and stir in the milk. Add the orange zest then beat in the egg.

3. Make a well in the flour mixture and pour in the milk mixture. Use your hands and mix them together to form a soft dough.

4. Lightly flour the kitchen top and knead for about five minutes until the dough gets stretchy and elastic.

5. Flatten the dough out and sprinkle over the raisins, sultanas and mixed peel. Press them into the dough, then continue to knead for a couple of minutes more until fully incorporated. Shape the dough into a ball and put in a lightly greased bowl. Cover with a tea towel and set aside for about an hour until the dough doubles in size.

hotcross1

6. Lightly flour the kitchen top again before tipping the risen dough. Flatten the dough slightly and then divide them into 13 portions. Each should weigh about 80g. Gently shape each one into a round and place on a baking tray lined with baking paper, about 2cm apart. Cover with a tea towel and set aside for a further 40 minutes.

7. Preheat the oven to 200 degC. To make the crosses, mix the flour with about 4 tbsp water until a thick paste forms. Fill a piping bag fitted with a small nozzle or cut the corner off a sandwich bag. Slash the top of each bun with a cross and pipe the flour paste on. As I had neither, I basically used a spoon and spreaded mine into the slits.

hotcross2

8. Place buns in the oven and bake for about 20-25 minutes until the buns get a lovely golden brown colour.

9. Gently heat the golden syrup in a small pan. Remove the buns from the oven and brush all over with sticky syrup. Allow to cool slightly before serving.

hotcross3

Serve warm with tea and butter!

Side note: Home made hot cross buns taste so much better than store bought ones!

6 thoughts on “This easter…

    • Thank you! Now that I have tried and tested your recipe, I am confirming that they are brilliant! Thank you! My husband is so pleased that I baked these little buns! Am sure that this will become a repertoire!

  1. Yum!! These look really good, like as if you just picked them up fresh from a local bakery. Can you believe most Americans have never even heard of hot cross buns! Must remember to buy some tomorrow, the ingredients list kind of scares me. xx

  2. Hi Wendy, I love the look of your hot cross buns and I bet Charles loved them too. He has always been a big HC bun eater! I will try your recipe. This Easter I made lots of Quince and Pear jam spiced with star anise and ginger – very good and especially nice as the quinces came from our tree. I remember your father noticing the quince tree. By the way the pot plant they gave me is still going strong. I hope you had a happy Easter – not long now until we are in London, can’t wait. Love Victoria

    PS Hmmm – quince jam on HC buns.

Leave a Reply

